Corrections for Podcast #1

June 2, 2011

Five years ago, when I first piloted the online version of ENG 264, I recorded the podcasts that still provide the lecture component of the course. In the first podcast I introduce myself and share some details about myself, my family and the course. Over the years that information has become a bit outdated. Here are some revisions and corrections:

 

  • I am now a full professor (not associate professor).
  • I am no longer Director of the First Year Seminar program; I am now, however, the Director of the Writing Program of the College of Liberal Arts.
  • My wife and I are now celebrating our 25th anniversary on Monday, May 31 (not our 20th anniversary). We will be going to Asheville, NC, but I will be back in time for our chat session on Thursday, June 2nd.
  • My son Carlyle is now 20 (not 15) and my daughter Ellyson is now 17 (not 12).
  • The band I play with performed at Lake Oconee (at the Ritz-Carlton Lodge) throughout January, February and March, but we do not have a current gig lined up in the near future.
  • While ENG 264 is still a course that fulfills a general education requirement, it is no longer mandated for English majors; ENG 263 is the only required survey for those majors.
  • I believe I have now taught ENG 264 around 30 times (not 21), and this will be the fifth summer I have taught the online version.
  • My original envisioning of this Session 3 course is still partly correct: most of the reading and discussing of the the materials will take place during the time period of Session 1, but the research paper and comments are due midway through Session 2, not at the end.
  • The other podcasts deal with the readings rather my personal life, and so should not require this sort of updating.

 

Leave a comment